Paste-resist dyeing: the results

After a whole day spent carefully painting a waterlily design onto the pattern pieces for the dress I was going to make, I put it into the dye, being careful not to stir and disturb the paste, and … it just dyed the whole thing. Except for a few patches of lighter colour, which render the fabric useless for anything else.

So, the result of all those hours of research, paste-boiling, and painting? Some blotchy blue fabric and stained fingers. EPIC FAIL. At least I have some photos of the pretty design before I ruined it with dye.

Next time I’ll use wax, or get someone who knows what they’re doing to show me how.

Leave a comment

Filed under Burble, My art

Leave a Reply

